Overtime Laws

Find Out If You Are Owed Money.

Take Our Survey.


Minimum Wage: Federal and by State

What is minimum wage under the FLSA?

Under the FLSA, the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour effective July 24, 2009 through the present. Thus, employers subject to the provisions of the FLSA may not pay employees at a rate of less than $7.25 per hour for all hours of compensable time worked. However, many of the states have a higher minimum wage (see below).

Minimum Wage State Laws

In the U.S., approximately half of the states have minimum wage laws that are identical to the federally-mandated minimum wage. And while many states have laws dictating a higher minimum wage than that required under federal law, some states do not.

When state minimum wage conflicts with federal minimum wage, such that a state’s mandated minimum wage is higher, employers must comply with both laws. Otherwise, covered employers must comply with the federal minimum wage laws.

For Minimum Wage for Each State Click Here.

New York
90 Park Ave,
New York, NY 10016

1457 S High St.
Columbus OH, 43207

Diclaimer: The national overtime lawyers and wage and hour attorneys at Mansell Law LLC hold offices and are licensed to practice in New York and Ohio. The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established. ATTORNEY ADVERTISING. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.